recent readings

Recent Readings

Here are some of the articles, essays, and blog posts I’ve read recently!

 

Articles

Australian same sex couples say ‘I do’Moments after midnight, Australian same-sex couples say ‘I do’.

Frigid Baltimore City schools: The racism we haven’t confrontedThere are many, structural layers shaping unequal educational opportunity in this country — disparate access to technology, high-quality curriculum and teachers, small class sizes, advanced coursework, summer enrichment opportunities, and more. But the recent reports from Baltimore highlight something more visceral and basic: the neglect of rock-bottom, foundational needs of human beings.

Girls’ Generation’s Sunny Pens Honest Letter About Learning to Deal with the Loss of SHINee’s JonghyunGirls’ Generation’s Sunny recently shared her thoughts about 2017 coming to an end and opened up about how her family has been helping her deal with the loss of SHINee’s Jonghyun.

How To Go Home for the Holidays, When Home Has Lost Its MeaningFor the LGBTQ+ community, the holidays are complicated

The invented language that found a second life onlineMore than 100 years after it was invented, Esperanto is spoken by relatively few people. But the internet has brought new life to this intriguing, invented language.

My mom chose meThe inevitable question I get when people learn I was adopted is this: “Did you ever try to find your real mom?” I did find her. I found my real mom the day Sylvia Macks adopted me.

A school sought 50 men to stand in for absent fathers at ‘Breakfast with Dads’–nearly 600 showed up“When a young person sees someone other than their teacher take interest in them, it inspires them. That’s what we want to see happen,” the Rev. Donald Parish Jr., pastor of True Lee Missionary Baptist Church and the event organizer, told the Morning News.

Thank goodness for Oprah Winfrey. She saved the show.It was a beautiful TV moment and just what the Globes needed as the show, which promised protest, dragged on, despite Seth Meyers’ heroic efforts as the host to keep it exciting.

Why shopping is about to become all about the experienceShopping may be about to undergo a dramatic transformation. Within the next decade it could change into an activity driven entirely by experiences and interactive technology rather than the act of buying.

 

Posts

American Girl Outsider : Rambled Opinions and General Snarkiness: Blast Off With Luciana Vega (and More From That One White Kid) and Ew, Boys, Moddie Mishaps, and Wellies On Stage

benebell wen : Spiritsong Tarot by Paulina Cassidy and The Venetian Tarot by Eugene Vinitski

Bustle : 11 Books I Wish My Teachers Had Taught Me In High School

Crafty Chica : How to Make an Epic Vision Board!

Happy Indulgence : The Importance of the Book Blogging Community

K.M. Allen : Plan the Town

Mini Mad : Truly Me Celebration Dress

Quartz : The 99 best things that happened in 2017

Raising My Rainbow : I’m a Boy and Some Girls Are Stronger Than Me

Trout Nation : The Big Damn Buffy Rewatch S04E03: “The Harsh Light of Day”

The Witch of Lupine Hollow : Top 10 Most Popular “Witch of Lupine Hollow” posts of 2017

Yes and Yes : The 1 Thing Nobody Tells You About Keeping Resolutions, Setting Goals & Changing Habits and How Not To Give Up On Your Goals When You ‘Screw Up’

 

 

2 thoughts on “Recent Readings”

    1. I thought I had already replied to this, so I’m sorry that this is so late ;; but thank you for sharing that post with us! I need to work a lot on my world-building skills, so posts like this are really helpful.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment